Tini Lux: The Company That Helped Me Wear Earrings Again

GeekDad
6 min readNov 5, 2018

Posted on November 4, 2018 by A.J. O’Connell

Back in February, I wrote about my earring quest, and how I’d tried a bunch of different hacks to wear my earrings again. I tried everything from Vaseline-coated earring posts (didn’t work for me) to stainless steel hooks (mostly worked). The experiment was mostly unsatisfying; I was dealing with two problems — skin that had gotten sensitive and an earring hole that had healed up wrong at some point. I was going to head to the piercer for help, but life got in the way, and I mostly forgot about the experiment.

Then I got a message from Jackie Burke, the founder of Tini Lux, a company that makes only hypoallergenic earrings.

What is Tini Lux and what are hypoallergenic earrings?

Burke, a systems engineer, founded Tini Lux in 2017 after facing many of the same issues I had faced with my own ears.

“I stopped wearing earrings around 2008/2009 after about 10 years of having my ears pierced because I started developing the most painful reactions after a few minutes of wearing them,” she said. “Around 2015, earrings started being really popular with all the fashion bloggers I followed, so I really wanted to figure out how I could start wearing them again.”

--

--

GeekDad

Geeks and parents from all over the world, writing about what we love. Read all our content at geekdad.com and geekmom.com. Support at patreon.com/geekdad.