For Love of Video Game Music

GeekDad
3 min readAug 13, 2020

I’ve been a software developer for twenty years, but my love has always been music. I’ve loved video game music since my days on the Commodore 64, when I would listen to SID Player music and try to play those tracks on a piano, only rarely succeeding. Today, I’d like to share with you some of my own favorite music from video games. I encourage you to click some of these links and check out the music.

I’ve got fond memories of the music from Skate or Die, , and Bards Tale 3, but I especially remember playing this song from Ultima V on my piano, going up and down the scale, playing the song in C, then in C#, then in D, et cetera.

As the years went on and I moved on from Commodore 64 to PC and Playstation 1, I enjoyed video game music’s evolution beyond chiptunes. I listened to the soundtrack from Castlevania: Symphony of the Night for years after completing the game (200%!) and found myself listening to the wonderfully eerie Silent Hill 2 soundtrack despite the fact that I never played the game. I know — I lose geek cred for that one.

I’ve found that while working, some of the best music to listen to if I want to focus is video game music. After all, video game music was written with the intent that it be listened to while the listener focuses on another task. So while I work, I listen to the beautiful orchestral sounds of Shadow of the

--

--

GeekDad

Geeks and parents from all over the world, writing about what we love. Read all our content at geekdad.com and geekmom.com. Support at patreon.com/geekdad.